I QUIT Van Life

All Good Things Must Come to an End

Adrian Brambila
3 min readSep 24, 2021

When I first told my parents that I wanted to live in a van, I made it clear that it was not my idea — it was my wife, Ashley’s. Still, it didn’t go down too well… and their response totally made sense! One should question why someone would want to live in a van; it’s not a normal thing to do!

However, once I started sending them photos of my adventures, they began to understand. I got to spend my Tuesdays staring out at beautiful lakes and mountains as opposed to a computer screen in a cubicle. It was a beautiful life.

I’m not sure I can name my favorite place that we traveled to. The entire past eleven months have been, for me at least, romantic. Yellowstone was incredible. Sedona was so great that we ended up there a few different times! Key West, Florida has the most amazing clear water beach that just shimmered an aqua blue. It’s impossible to pick a favorite. Eleven months on the road feels like years.

The spontaneity of going to a new place every week slowly started to lose its romantic appeal. Each and every destination brought beautiful sights but it also meant packing everything up. I had no sense of belonging and started to become homesick. It’s really quite funny that I say…

--

--

Adrian Brambila

Made $1M in a Year from Side Hustles Ex-Pro dancer (T-Pain, Step Up 3)